Svartå Manor


Raasepori > In the Footsteps of Famous Finns > From Cottage to Castle

The main building at Svartå was built 1783-92 according to plans by the city architect of Turku, C.F.Schröder, and Erik Palmstedt, an architect from Stockholm. The neoclassical building is unique and one of the most important buildings of its time in Finland. In the 1980s, the property was respectfully renovated, retaining the fixed furnishings in Gustavian style containing an abundance of valuable detail. The wallpaper murals with Roman themed pictures in the drawing room belonging to the lady of the manor are of particular interest. They are thought to have been made by Louis Jean Desprez (1743 – 1804).

 

Since 1986, the owner runs a manor hotel with restaurant and conference facilities. The restored manor building is a museum and is surrounded by beautiful English style gardens.

 

Svartå was one of the first iron works in Finland. The iron works was initially founded in the 1560s and then a second time in 1616. The iron works surroundings with a church, a main street, the manor and English gardens all remain.

 

Address: Hållsnäsintie 89, Mustio
Opening Hours: 7.6.-12.8.2017 Tue-Thur and Sat guided tours on the hour 11.00 – 15.00. In July also sun at 12,13, 14, and 15. The last guided tour starts at 15.00. Guided tour in Swedish every open day at 14.00.
Enquiries: 019-36231, e-post: info@mustionlinna.fi
Entrance Fee: Adults 10 €, children 5-12 2 €, students and seniors 8 €. Private guided tours outside opening hours starting at 95 €.
Links: www.mustionlinna.fi
Temporary Exhibitions, events: Many events during the summer months, visit www.mustionlinna.fi for details.
Other museums to visit: Hvitträsk
Services: Shop,  restaurant, hotel, conference facilities etc.
Accessibility: Liikuntaeste Poor disabled access